Distinguished Service Award

The Verda Rochon Award

CASC/ACSS consistently promotes high standards of professionalism and service in the field of Spiritual Care Practice, Psycho-Spiritual Therapy and Supervisory-Education. Some members go beyond these high standards and this award is a means of acknowledging a member of the association who has made a significant contribution to the profession and to the Association. The award will not be made to any current member of the Board.

Selection Procedure

Nominations must:

  • be made in writing by three members in good standing in the Association,
  • must include biographical information, letters of recommendation, and reasons for the nomination.
  • be forwarded to the CASC/ACSS Board who will make a final decision.
  • be received by February 1.

Criteria for Award

  • CASC/ACSS member in good standing.
  • Personal and professional integrity.
  • Significant contribution to one or more of the following: Spiritual Care Practice, Psycho-Spiritual Therapy, Supervisory-Education.
  • Contribution to and a history of leadership within CASC/ACSS
  • Commitment to and demonstrated leadership in the area of ecumenical or interfaith understanding

Please send the Nominations using this form:
to The Past or Vice President

Past Award Recipients
Year Person Member’s Region Convention Location
of Award Presentation      
2017 Thomas Dwight Powell Saskatchewan Saskatoon, SK
2016 Michael Chow Ontario South West Vancouver, BC
2015 Thomas St. James O’Connor Ontario South West Hamilton, ON
2014 George Neufeld Manitoba Winnipeg, MB
2013 Neil Elford Ontario North East Ottawa, ON
2012 Buffy Harper Atlantic Sydney, NS
2011 Dale Johnson British Columbia Toronto ON
2010 Gary Myatt Atlantic Banff AB.
2009 Margaret Clark Alberta Orlando, FL, USA
2008 Nicholas Wilson Deceased, British Columbia,   Dec 6, 2005 Victoria, BC
2007 Donald Misener Ontario Northeast Niagara Falls ON
2006 Gordon Toombs  Emeritus, Manitoba and  Ontario Northwest Winnipeg MB
2005 Louis Caissie
Margaret Cobbold
Emeritus, IPT (Atlantic)
Emeritus, Ontario Central
Halifax NS
2004 Douglas Wilson Ontario Northeast Ottawa ON
2003 Harold King Emeritus, Manitoba and Ontario Northwest Toronto ON
2002 Jack Tattrie IPT (Atlantic) Edmonton AB
2001 Ed Fiander IPT (Atlantic) Halifax NS
2000 Colin MacKinnon Emeritus, IPT (Atlantic) Toronto ON
1999 Murray Thompson British Columbia Vancouver BC
1998 Philip Joudrey Quebec Hamilton ON
1997 Charles P. Taylor IPT (Atlantic) St. John’s NF
1996 Archibald J. MacLachlan Ontario South West Winnipeg MB
1995 Verda Rochon Retired, Quebec Montreal QC